Mrs. Carolyn Holubec (2022) is Thrall ISD's 4th recipient over the past 11 years of the Heroes for Children award representing District 10 of the State Board of Education.  Thrall ISD honored all 4 of our Heroes for Children recipients  at Tiger Stadium during half time of the Battle of HWY 79/Pink Out football game between Thrall and Thorndale. Other past recipients of the Heroes for Children award from our Thrall ISD community include Chad Richter (2020), Russel Richter (2018) and Abby Alderete. We are blessed and very proud to have all of these dedicated individuals giving thousands of hours serving our public school and Thrall ISD community!

Mrs. Carolyn Holubec, current President of the Thrall Community Education Foundation (TCEF), has been chosen to receive the 2022 Heroes for Children Award for State Board of Education (SBOE) District 10, as a result of her many years of volunteer service for Thrall ISD. Mrs. Holubec was nominated by Mr. Tommy Hooker, Superintendent. 

This is a prestigious award as she is one of only 15 awardees statewide who will receive this recognition for the outstanding services and support she has offered our school community, the staff, and most notably, the students of Thrall ISD.

The State Board of Education established the Heroes for Children award program in 1994. Since its beginning, the award has provided a means to recognize Texas residents who render selfless acts of service by offering their time, effort, and support to public schools and students. The award honors volunteers who have made outstanding contributions to student learning or who have demonstrated sustained periods of involvement and support of public education.

Mrs. Holubec is recognized for her nearly 12 years of engagement in activities and volunteer missions on a consistent basis. She has become a fixture for our district and when the need arises, Carolyn is guaranteed to be there in an immediate manner! The positive sense she gives for our administrators, faculty, students, and parents in her volunteering is overwhelming and has had a significant impact on improving our Thrall ISD culture.

Mrs.  Holubec's volunteer activities include: 

• Multiple years serving on Elementary and Secondary PTO's, as both a member and/or officer
• Multiple years serving as a Band Parent Volunteer
• Volunteered during sporting events at any area needed
• Volunteered and assisted with our sporting fields to ensure they were painted for athletic events
• Thrall Community Education Foundation (TCEF) President for the past 3 years and member for many years before that. 

During this time of service with TCEF, Mrs. Holubec has:
o Recruited members of the community to become active participants of the foundation.
o Helped raise over $250,000 in funds for student scholarships and teacher grants.
o Volunteered countless hours to ensure the community wide Harvest Festival was a success.
o Handed out over $100,000 in student scholarships.
o Ensured that over $40,000 went back into the hands of teachers and staff in the form of grants.
o Advocated for donors and sponsors at the many events held by the TCEF.
o Met with various sub committees of TCEF

All 15 award recipients will be honored during the SBOE general meeting on September 2 to be held at the William B. Travis Building in Austin. 

Congratulations and Thank You, Mrs. Holubec!

Other past recipients of the Heroes for Children award from our Thrall ISD community included Abby Alderete, Chad Richter and Russel Richter. We are blessed to have all of these dedicated individuals serving our public school community.